Get to know Mandy…

 

We had a chat with Mandy to find out what makes her tick.

Q: What is your favourite way to start the day?
Being woken up by the sunshine and sound of the waves, but it’s usually a prod in the face by a fluffy paw!

Q: When we can travel again, where would your next holiday destination be?
Chosen destination would be Borneo as I really have a passion to visit the orangutans in their natural habitat, but I would feel very lucky to travel anywhere to the sunshine right now!

Q: What is your favourite beverage on a hot summer’s day?
Ice cold glass of Chablis, if it’s not an alcoholic drink it’s just water, maybe some fresh lime if I’m feeling exotic!

Q: What is your proudest achievement?
My cycle challenges around the world; Peru, China, Lands End to John O’Groats and an attempt at Tanzania (a broken arm stopped play) and the fundraising events I have organised to support these for Hospice, McMillan and FOJO. I think it’s time for another one!! The below image on the right is me day 12 of LEJOG at John O’Groats!

Q: What is your favourite way to unwind?
I’m not very good at unwinding if I’m honest, I love being busy. Be creative; cooking or painting something as I’m renovating my house. I love getting outdoors and doing some exercise; on my bike, a walk along the cliff paths or beach and of course chilling with friends over nice food and wine.

Q: When people come to you for help, what do they usually want help with?
It’s definitely not relationship advice!!! It really is a variety of things, friends/family generally want someone to listen and I’m a good listener and I also see things from different angles which usually helps them to make their own decision in the end.

Q: Have you ever had a nickname, if so, what is it and why?
A few! Matching Mandy and Makeup Mandy, they speak for themselves really! Pinkie, not quite sure as my favourite colour is Red!

Q: What is the best gift you have ever received?
My late sisters cat.

Q: Aside from necessities, what one thing could you not go a day without?
Lipstick!!

Q: List two pet peeves of yours.
Swearing and thinking the world owes you, make it happen!

Q: What would you do if you won the lottery?
Travel, I love travelling. I would also like to work with animals. I hate seeing animals in pain/struggling so at a sanctuary, maybe even open my own!

Q: How did you stay motivated during lockdown?
Making the most of our beautiful island and getting out in the fresh air.

Q: What is your claim to fame?
Playing netball for Jersey from U12’s (I think, it was a long time ago!) until U21’s and being Captain to the Under 21s Jersey Netball squad at the Southern Counties netball Tournament when it was staged in Jersey for one year.

Q: What hobby would you get into if time and money were not an issue?
I would love to be able to play the Saxophone. Maybe something for retirement if I’ve still got enough puff!!

 

Q: If you could move to any city, which would it be?
Um none, I’m not a city person. Lovely to visit, but not to stay.

Q: What is your favourite thing about working at Alexander Daniels?Love our team! Flexible working and being able to manage your own desk.

Q: What would you like to accomplish in the next 5 years?
I would like to run a marathon, never completed a running challenge apart from the Jersey Relay!

Q: What are three interesting facts about you?
1.  I have done a 21 day detox yearly for the last 21 years
2.  I have my A Level art
3.  I will eat all the toffees out the Quality Streets!!!! To end on a lighter note!